Google Meet will remind you to leave a meeting if you forget

How many times has it happened that you have forgotten to exit a meeting leaving you alone in the digital room? Probably many. Google has taken cognizance of the fact that sometimes people do forget to exit meetings and that the entire experience of being in the digital room alone can be a bit eerie. So now, it has started rolling out a new feature on Google Meet that will prompt users if they forget to leave a meeting.

Google via a blog post said that now when a user is the only person in a meeting for five minutes, they will receive a prompt asking whether they want to stay or leave the meeting. And if they don’t respond after two minutes, they will automatically leave the meeting. “We hope that this feature will help prevent situations where your audio or video is unintentionally shared,” Google wrote in a post explaining the rationale behind introducing this feature.

The company also said that this feature will be turned on by default for all users. However, users will get the option to disable this feature manually. To manually disable this feature, here’s what users need to do:

On PCs: On the bottom bar, tap More options > go to Settings > go to General > toggle off the Leave empty calls button.

On iPhone and iPad: Open the meet app and before joining a meeting, tap the Menu > on the top left corner tap Settings > select the account you want to switch off the settings on > toggle off Leave Empty Calls option.

As far as availability is concerned, Google said that it has started rolling out this feature to all Google Workspace customers, legacy G Suite Basic, business customers and users with personal Google accounts on desktop and iOS devices and they will start getting these prompts later in this month. As far as Android users are concerned, the company said that the feature will arrive on Android devices soon. However, Google didn’t share the exact timeline of launch.

Faqs

Google has implemented some changes to improve security in Google Meet. Now, when a Google Meet host (listed as the meeting organizer in Google Calendar) leaves their meeting, they have two options: Just leave the call: The host will leave the meeting, but the meeting will continue.22-Mar-2021

Conducting a successful Google Meet event is impossible without a host. If you’re not going to participate in the event you created, it’s best to change the host before the meeting starts.01-Sept-2021

– Open Google Calendar and click on the meeting from the grid.
– Click Options (three vertical dots) in the top right of the event window.
– Click Change owner.
– Type the name of the person you’d like to make a host.
– Click their name in the name field and then click Change owner.

How to use: – Click on the extension icon that will appear in the upper right corner of the browser; – Insert the meeting code; – Select the desired options; – Click on Enter; – Done, a new tab will open with permissions enabled.17-Aug-2020

The meeting closes. If you only needed to leave temporarily, or you left by accident, just click the Rejoin button. Otherwise, you can close the tab, or click Return to Home Screen to join or start another meeting.

– On the remote control or speakermic, press End call .
– On a personal device, close the browser tab or window or tap or click End call .

Conclusion

Google has implemented some changes to improve security in Google Meet. Now, when a Google Meet host (listed as the meeting organizer in Google Calendar) leaves their meeting, they have two options: Just leave the call; or, Conduct a successful Google Meet event is impossible without a host. If you’re