How to remove Google Account from PC, browser permanently

Multiple Google accounts can be added to Chrome. Although adding an account to Chrome browser is simple, it can be confusing to remove the account from Chrome. It isn’t as hard as you might think to delete a Gmail Account from your browser or PC.

Here are some simple steps to follow if you want to delete an old account at work or remove personal information from a friend’s computer. We recommend backing up important files from Gmail or Drive before you proceed with these steps. Once it is deleted, your folders and inbox will no longer be accessible.

How do I delete my Google account?

Open myaccount.google.com in Chrome browser. Click Manage your personalisation and data. You will find it under Privacy & Personalisation.

Scroll down to see the option to ‘Download, delete or plan for your data.

Select the “Delete an account or a service” option

Click “Delete Your Account” in the upper-right corner of the page.

Click the Next button to confirm your password

Google will first ask you if it is okay to backup your data before you delete the account. Click the “Delete Your Google Account” button in the upper-right corner of the page to save your data.

Select the data that you wish to backup and then click Next

Click the blue button to create an archive.

Once the process has been completed, click the “Delete Your Google Account” tab

Scroll down to check all the checkboxes

-Acknowledgement is received. Click the Delete Account button to the bottom of your screen. You can delete your Google account, as well as all of your data.

Remove Google Account From Chrome

If Chrome has automatically linked your Google profile to a Chrome account, this alternative method can be used to get rid of it.

First, click on the profile icon at the top-right corner of Chrome.

Tap on Manage People in the Profile menu

The following page displays a listing of Google Chrome profiles that can be used as cards

To remove Google accounts from Chrome, you’ll need to go to Settings menu. This will be located in the upper-right corner on your profile card.

You will find the option to Remove This Person in the drop-down menu

After pressing this option, the Google Chrome account linked with your Chrome profile will be deleted

Although the procedure is straightforward, it is important to remember that if their Google/Gmail account was provided by work/institutes they will need to contact their administrator to delete their account. Users will also lose the ability to download apps and purchase stuff via Google Play if their account is deleted from Chromebook.