How to stop Facebook from tracking you

Since the Cambridge Analytica scandal, Facebook’s handling of private information has come under scrutiny. Facebook is facing criticism for its privacy policy, which states that all apps will share user data. Privacy concerns are also raised by the ‘off Facebook activity-tracking’ feature, which monitors users’ app and website use on their phones. There are several settings you can change on Facebook to prevent the company from monitoring your activities. Here’s how to stop Facebook tracking of your online activities.

Which data does Facebook store?

Let’s first look at the data that Facebook actually has on you before we discuss how to prevent it from monitoring your online activities.

Facebook records your usage patterns, including when you opened an app or website, which device you used to search for it, the item that you add to a wishlist, cart or shopping cart, as well as what pages you visited. Facebook also tracks your search history, contacts, searches, products or ads you interact with and even where they are located.

How to prevent Facebook from monitoring your internet activities via Android/iOS

Step 1. Launch the Facebook app. Tap the More Options menu in the upper right corner of Android or the bottom for iOS.

Step 2 Scroll to the bottom and click on the “Settings and Privacy” option.

Step 3. Go to the Settings panel, and then go to the section titled ‘Apps and Notifications’.

4th Step: Click on Facebook to open the Permissions tab.

Step 5 Allow all users to refuse permissions

Facebook records your usage patterns, such as when you opened an app or website, which device you used to search for it, the item that you searched for, added to a wishlist, or cart, and whether you made any purchases or donations. (Screenshot)

How to Stop Facebook Activity Tracking on Android/iOS

Step 1. Launch the Facebook app. Tap on the More Settings icon in the upper right corner of Android or at the bottom for iOS.

Step 2 Click the “Settings and Privacy” tab.

Step 3 – Tap On Settings.

Step 4 : Next, tap on Off-Facebook Activity.

Step 5 Tap on the “Clear History” option to make sure that Facebook deletes all of your data.

6: Disable the option.

You will no longer receive personalised ads based upon your online activities after you have disabled the option. Even if all these steps have been followed, it does not mean that Facebook will cease tracking your online activity. Facebook will continue to track your everyday usage of its apps, such as log in sessions and time spent.