Twitter will now let you unmention yourself from tweets

Have you ever found yourself being dragged in a conversation on Twitter that you don’t want to be a part of? Now, Twitter is rolling out a feature that will help users excuse themselves from conversations that they don’t want to be a part of.

Twitter has announced that it has started experiment testing a new feature that enables users to unmention themselves from conversations or discussions that they don’t want to be part of. The short video shared by the micro-blogging platform via its Twitter Safety handle shows that the new unmention button not only enables users to untag themselves from a particular tweet but it also enables them to untag themselves from the original tweet and all replies pertaining to that conversation.

In addition to this, the unmention feature also prevents other Twitter users from mentioning users in the same conversation again. Apart from that, while users who have unmentioned themselves from a conversation will not get notifications pertaining to conversation, they will still be able to see the entire conversation on the platform.

It is worth mentioning that the Unmention feature was first teased by Twitter back in June 2021. At the time Twitter privacy designer Dominic Camozzi had shared a ‘concept’ of the feature while inviting feedback. Then in August, Camozzi had responded to users’ feedback that the name of the feature was too confusing by renaming it to – ‘Leave the conversation’.

Now, Twitter has started testing its ‘Leave the conversation’ or ‘Unmention’ feature with a limited set of users. The company hasn’t shared details as to when this feature will be rolled out more widely or when it will arrive on Twitter’s Android and iOS-based app.

Notably, this feature comes shortly after Twitter announced that it will soon enable users to edit their tweets with a new ‘Edit Tweet’ button. This was followed by preceded by Elon Musk joining the board of the company.

Faqs

Sensitive media, including graphic violence and adult content: You may not post media that is excessively gory or share violent or adult content within live video or in profile or header images. Media depicting sexual violence and/or assault is also not permitted.

People cannot see what you search for on Twitter. Twitter does not sell your search history. Twitter, like many search engines and social media evaluates your searches and your posts and identifies the topics you are interested in nd lets companies pay them to target you with ads.

Simply put, no. There is no way for a Twitter user to know exactly who views their Twitter or specific tweets; there’s no Twitter search for that kind of thing.07-May-2021

So far, accounts have been suspended for the phrases: “Kill myself, cut myself, hang myself, suicide, punch and I wanna die.” Basically any words that trigger or imply self harm and suicide. Even simple everyday phrases like “ugh kill me” and common “stan twitter” phrases are getting accounts suspended.13-Mar-2018

People can express themselves freely on Twitter as long as they do not violate our Twitter Rules and Twitter Terms of Service. Unless your Tweets are protected, any person on Twitter can see your Tweets. We do not block, limit, or remove content based on an individual’s views or opinions.

According to Twitter’s Terms of Service, you may not post direct, specific threats of violence against others. Doing so may get your Twitter account suspended or banned if the Twitter team catches your post. However, in some cases, the penalties could be much, much worse.02-Oct-2012